Everything in your baking pantry Muffin Mix

My extremely kind-of-sort-of, sweet child prefers a granola bar for breakfast…over anything else. I can open a packaged wrapper in the kitchen and you will hear little pitter patters of feet running around the corner to see if he is getting a peanut butter or chocolate chip bar, only to find out that it is NOT a granola bar at all, but a boring, old strawberry pop-tart. The first time I tricked changed it up on him, his poor face changed dramatically from all cheeks and teeth to a little pouty, disappointed smirk when he saw the pop-tart.

I then decided I would make my own granola bars…which would be a little healthier for him and somewhat cheaper for us. I attempted…and that was that. My yummy peanut butter, cranberry and chocolate chip granola bars did not pass the “touch test.” (All things that enter my toddler’s mouth most be dry, hard and well…boring.)

Back to square one…

I have roamed and roamed the World Wide Web looking for breakfast recipes that allow me to hide include healthy ingredients that he normally wouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole.  I have found several that I would like, but each, for whatever single reason, would not work for Mister Easton.  So, I decided to combine 2-3 recipes and concoct something of my own.

Now, on to the recipe…

Coconut, Banana, Oats, and Chocolate Chip Muffins

(a.k.a Everything in your baking pantry Muffins)

What I used:

  • 3 mashed bananas
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking powder
  • 3 cups Old Fashioned Oats
  • 1 Teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 Tablespoons chocolate chips
  • 1-2 cups sweetened shredded coconut

How I made them:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Mash bananas.
  3. Mix all ingredients except the chocolate chips.
  4. Spray a muffin pan and/or liners with non-stick spray.
  5. Stir the chocolate chips into the batter.
  6. Divide batter into muffin cups.
  7. Bake 20-30 minutes until you see the edges just starting to brown. They will be firm to the touch.
  8. Let cool completely before removing from tin/liner. If not, they will stick.

Enjoy!

Have a Pepperplate account? View the recipe here.

And, just so you know… the end result on the Will-Easton-Eat-This-O-Meter…a BIG FAT ZERO! But, the hubby and I sure do like them, especially warm! Also, go ahead and make a little extra, as these work great as freezer food!

I am linking up to:

(first link party!!! **does a little dance**)

5 thoughts on “Everything in your baking pantry Muffin Mix

  1. Wow looks good. Only one more item I will ask mom to add. Mmmmmm can you say peanut butter! We know it is a great addition to bananas 🙂 seriously this recipe look (yummy).

    • It made 18 medium sized muffins. And, yes it does have a slight banana taste. However, you could possibly add more chocolate chips and/or a type of nut to cut the taste some.

  2. Little ones do have definite tastes but good for you trying to find something good for him. I thought you would end this post with saying he liked them…the muffins sound good.

  3. Pingback: A Promise to my Little Puddin’ Face | Small {{wood}} Talk

Leave a Reply

