“Funny how a melody, sounds like a memory…”

Funny how a melody sounds like a memory

Like the soundtrack to a July Saturday night

Springsteen

~Eric Church

Gotta love a good country song. Especially one that brings back good memories.

Speaking of memories….

With today’s weather reaching 89 degrees (by the way, in case you didnt check the date of this post, it is still April), it sure did feel a little like summer time.

There are certain things that always bring back memories of my childhood summers…

*watermelon*

*camping on the river*

*playing horse shoes and Indian ball*

*my PawPaw singing and playing his guitar*

*festivals*

*fresh sweet iced tea*

*baton and dance competitions*

*band camp*

*fish fries at my grandparents*

*dollar bill poker and the penny game*

*little brothers’ birthday parties*

*lightning bugs and mason jars*

Last night, after prepping food for the month,  I decided that I wanted to make me a little treat…some fresh cucumber salad. And I say ‘me’ because I know no one else will enjoy it. Even better. I don’t have to share. The only thing that could have made this any more delightful would have been if the ingredients came from a garden of my own.

As soon as I put it all together, I thought about summer time and all the times that my mom made this. I secretly think, that she, too, made it mostly for herself. And, that is okay in my book, as I learned to love it just as much.

So, on to the recipe…

Fresh Cucumber Salad

7-cups unpeeled pickling cucumbers sliced thin

1-cup sliced onions

1-cup sliced green peppers

1-cup sliced red peppers

1-cup sliced yellow peppers

1-tbsp salt

1-cup white vinegar

2-cups sugar

1-tsp celery seed

1-tsp mustard seed

Mix cucumbers, onions, peppers and salt; set a side. Put vinegar, sugar, celery seed and mustard seed in a pot and bring to a boil. Remove from heat and let cool for one hour. Pour mixture over veggies. Put in or container and store in refrigerator. It will keep for up to 2 months..that is if you don’t eat it all before then! Yummy!

Makes 2 quarts

(with a little extra to eat while putting in jars)

 

Leave a Reply

